The Test Box

*Typing feverously with tears brimming in my eyes* Yes, yes everything is all right. I’m just being Mrs Melodramatic right now. You see, I had planned to put up my contour post today, but I accidentally broke my camera this morning when I was taking pics so I ended up taking the contour pics with my phone and they look horrible. I’m not happy posting mediocre stuff on my blog so I’ll hopefully be posting it sometime next week.

Test_box_feature

I decided instead to make today’s post about the new subscription box in town. Let’s go back to the beginning. I learnt about The Test Box online store when fellow blogger Charlene tweeted about the R400 Festive Box she ordered from them last November. I immediately hopped onto the site and placed my order for a festive box as well. A week before Christmas, Charlene received her box and posted this picture up on her blog.

test_box_charlene

Boy, was I elated. I had seen the Bed Head products and was so excited to try it out. And the price of OPI nail polishes, even though they are sample size, I mean are you kidding me? So I waited eagerly for my box which I received the next day. Packaged prettily in yellow wrapping and string, I think I died a little inside when I opened it.

text_box_festive_01

text_box_festive_02

I can forgive the fact that I didn’t get the TIGI Bed Head since I do have different hair concerns than Charlene. But I only got one set of Invisibobbles and only one OPI nail polish. Obviously I thought the worst. They sent her more stuff because she’s a renowned beauty blogger and people would see how amazing their festive boxes are. Since I didn’t want to sound like a snob I kinda just left it because I still received well worth over R400 in products. I love my Invisibobbles, although one stretched so much I had to throw it away and the GHD Hair Spray is great for holding a curl or taming flyaway static hair like mine.

text_box_festive_03

text_box_festive_04

Since I am subscribed to The Test Box newsletter, I was notified in December of their subscription boxes being launched in March. I signed up immediately and the boxes started getting delivered yesterday. Images on Twitter and Instagram confirmed my deepest fears. Only this time it wasn’t that I was getting any less than the other subscribers, but because the products in the box are ones that I had already purchased and reviewed from one of the Retail Box Secret Boxes. You can read my review on the Joico K-PAK products here. Also included was a three-toned detangling comb which I guess could always come in handy. Okay so enough of my ranting, let’s get down to facts.

test_box_1_02

test_box_1_03

The Test Box is a subscription box service that costs just R160 per month for samples. And by samples I don’t mean those silly little sachets they give you at cosmetics counters that only last for one use. These are travel sized samples so you can truly test whether you love the product and it works for you before you waste money and purchase full sizes for products you never use. The Test Box only stock professional brands that are not usually found in drugstores like TIGI, Paul Mitchell, Kevin Murphy, Sexy Hair and American Crew. The Joico samples I received are both 100ml and since the 300ml retails for R250($21) I estimate these are worth about R83($7) each. The comb I guess about R20($2) and if you factor in delivery then the total worth of the box is about R230($20). Not bad considering you get to try out proper sized products that could ultimately cost you an arm and a leg if it doesn’t work for you.

TestBoxLogo1

You can check out The Test Box online store here to see what they have on offer or subscribe to their box via debit order. I am really looking forward to next months box cos it just can’t get any worse, right?

On that note, please can you help me find another camera. My budget is about R5,000($425) so if you know of any decent cameras that could take pics and video for my blog then leave me a message in the comments section below.

Are you subscribed to any beauty boxes? Would you subscribe to The Test Box subscription box?

Oh and if you want to WIN a 3-month subscription box from The Test Box, then head on over to Charlene’s blog at Gee Whiskers!

LOTS OF LOVE

Belle BluSHH

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Posted on March 4, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for mentioning me in your post. Not certain why I got the extras – I bought the box like everyone else. Although I do feel bad for you not getting the same value from your box.

    Like

Leave a comment

Fabulous in Hijab

Feeling fabulous

Passionate on Purpose

Seek what sets your soul on fire

Lipgloss is my Life

Ramblings of a rampant beauty editor...

MyBeautySignature

All things beauty and Makeup looks

Yolanda Jeftha

A South African Beauty Blog

An Ordinary Gal

A South African Beauty, Lifestyle and Parenting Blog

I'll Take It All

Fashion. Travel. Beauty

XXOJESS

XXOJESS

Gee Whiskers!

MAKEUP IS MY DRUG - ADDICT . JUNKIE . OBSESSED

the Beauty Bybel

MAKEUP IS MY DRUG - ADDICT . JUNKIE . OBSESSED