Totally (HASHTAG) Awesome – EOS Rachel Roy Lip Balms

I know it has taken me forever to write a new post, but it has been a hectic start to 2015 for me. With new ventures at work and spending time with my two little angels, I have been so exhausted that I just haven’t found the time. Until now.

hashtagawesome

So a week before I was going on vacation in December, I realised that I hadn’t placed an order for the EOS lip balms that I wanted for so long. For a while the ‘Holiday 2014 Limited Edition Lip Balm 3-Pack Inspired by Rachel Roy’ was sold out on all the South African online sites that supplied them and that was the one I wanted. One of those suppliers are Hashtag Awesome. So late on a Sunday night I emailed them to find out when they were getting stock again. I received a reply within minutes from the owner and he advised that he had stock and that he would update the website. Shortly afterwards I placed my order.  I received my parcel within two working days and I was so elated to finally try out what Kim K, JLO and Christina Aguilera (to name a few) were raving about.

eos_01

Firstly I opened the limited edition Vanilla Mint. Price R119 ($10) for 7g (0.25oz)

The packaging is very standard, just your normal drugstore plastic and cardboard sleeve. However, the egg shaped sphere with it’s gorgeous colours and intricate detail is anything but boring. The vanilla mint case is not a solid colour like the rest but swirls of two baby blue shades. It smells entirely of the ingredients although the vanilla prevails over the mint and the mint is not potent enough to make my lips tingle, which is something I would have liked.

eos_07

Holiday 2014 Limited Edition Lip Balm 3-Pack Price R299 ($26)

The Rachel Roy Trio was inspired by the fashion designer for ‘travel and warm sun’. This came packaged in a flat gold and peach cardboard cylinder with a transparent top. The three flavours are:

  • St. Barth’s Sunrise – Pink Grapefruit
  • Aloha Hawaii – Strawberry Kiwi
  • Indian Summer – Orange Blossom

eos_02 eos_03

eos_04

eos_06

eos_05

My favourite one is the strawberry kiwi even though they all smell divine. The EOS (Evolution of Smooth for those of you who don’t know) lip balms are 95% organic and 100% natural which means it doesn’t contain any petrolatum or parabens for those people to whom it matters (sorry I’m not one of them). The lip balm itself is a yellowish dome which resembles beeswax which is one of the ingredients. It also contains antioxidant-rich vitamin E, shea butter and jojoba oil which make the lips soft, moist and smooth. The lip balm itself has no colour/tint and is transparent when applied.

I’m kind of unsure how I feel about my EOS products. I was in such a haste to try it that I saw SPF when browsing the range and only afterwards, when after being in the blistering sun on vacation in Durban, did I realise that it is only the Lemon Drop flavour that has SPF15. Although it’s quite small, the EOS lip balm is not the most compact or convenient packaging if I want to put it in my handbag compartment or carry it around in my jean’s pocket.

It applies quite thickly to the lips and my lips do feel smooth instantly. On the other hand, I’m a constant lip licker (it tastes just like the fruit extracts it contains – yummy!) so once it’s off, my lips feel even drier than before. I also have a nasty tendency to bite my lips when I’m bored and the ingredients don’t assist in regenerating the reformation of cells. When I use my Maybelline BabyLips, my lips never feel dry regardless the time of day and I love the tint that some of them have.

One of the things I was most impressed about was that even in the heat and humidity, there was not even the slightest sign of melting even though I had read many reviews where it had done just so.

I’ve been using my EOS lip balms about four times a week before I go to bed just so I don’t waste it but I definitely do reach more for my BabyLips for everyday use. I’m uncertain whether I would purchase any other EOS flavours or their hand cream as it’s implanted in my head as an overrated brand.

Because of the great/amazing service I received (Thanks Mohsin), I will surely purchase from Hashtag Awesome again. They also stock other brands not readily available in South Africa such as Anastasia Beverly Hills, Too Faced and Urban Decay. The prices are quite steep but are on par with what you would pay if you ordered from overseas sites and included shipping and customs fees. Delivery on the other hand is quite reasonable and you get charged for the weight of the order starting at just R25 ($2). I currently have my eye on the Two Faced Sweethearts blush.

sweethearts

If you’d like to purchase EOS products then head on over to Hashtag Awesome to place your order.

Have you tried any EOS lip balms? What are your thoughts on it?

LOTS OF LOVE

Belle BluSHH ❤

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Posted on January 22, 2015, in Makeup, Online Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

MyBeautySignature

All things beauty and Makeup looks

StunnersSlayUniqueness

Imperfection is beauty! Embrace it!

An Ordinary Gal

A South African Beauty, Lifestyle and Parenting Blog

Make It Rayne

all things beautiful

Beauticraze

Spoil yourself - You deserve it

With Elizabeth H

Beauty • Lifestyle • Travel

stylewithmepretty

Fashion / Beauty / Advice / Lifestyle

Marelize du Toit Photography

My photography portfolio and blog about things

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

throughtheglitterglass.wordpress.com/

Through The Glitter Glass

XXOJESS

XXOJESS

Belle BluSHH

Welcome!

The Beauty Collection

Beauty lover, cat lady, digital marketing student, collector of neutral eyeshadow palettes. TBC is a space for me to share new releases, swatches and my thoughts on the best (and worst) of beauty.

Gee Whiskers!

MAKEUP IS MY DRUG - ADDICT . JUNKIE . OBSESSED

the Beauty Bybel

MAKEUP IS MY DRUG - ADDICT . JUNKIE . OBSESSED

Not Another Poppie

News, Reviews, and other beauty hues

