Are those your “Real Techniques”?

My obsession for makeup brushes is fuelled by my addiction to makeup. I truly believe that having the right tools can not only simplify makeup application, but make you look like a million bucks. Yes to most of the extent it is the type of product you buy i.e. foundation, eye shadow, blush, but if it’s applied and blended properly, it can make you look flawless. It is a constant pursuit to find the best makeup brushes out there and price does not always mean quality.

 real_techniques_01

So let’s start at the beginning. For those of you that don’t know, Real Techniques are a UK based brand run by beauty expert sisters, Sam and Nic. They are also the face of Youtube Channel Pixiwoo which has loads of makeup videos, hauls and tutorials.

The Real Techniques brushes are made of synthetic hair so it is 100% cruelty free and the bristles are super soft and plush to create a flawless finish. The brushes are colour-coded according to their use i.e. gold for base products (foundation, concealer), pink for finishing (blush) and purple for eyes (shadows, brow, crease). The body of the brush is made from aluminium so it’s lightweight and the bottom part of the handle has a rubber covering which allows the brushes to stand upright and not slip/roll across surfaces (only my two larger brushes are able to stand freely without toppling over).

I ordered the Starter and Core Collection sets online from All for Women for R382 and R386 ($33 each) respectively including shipping but their prices are highly inflated (prices fluctuate according to the USD exchange rate). Real Techniques does ship worldwide and including delivery it works out to about R100 ($9) cheaper from them but that does not include custom/duty fees.

The Starter and Core Collection brush sets both come with an innovative panoramic travel brush case/stand. This 2-in-1 case allows the brushes to be transported safely and also easily accessible for when in use. There are additional elastics if you want to add in some other brushes and a Velcro strap to hold it closed for storing or when travelling.

 real_techniques_02

real_techniques_03

real_techniques_04

real_techniques_05

On to the brushes themselves. All the brushes have a specific name which advises you what it is used for. Since any brush can be used for multiple purposes, I am going to tell you both what it should be used for and what I use it for according to my needs.

The Core Collection comprises of four brushes:

real_techniques_06

The largest of the four brushes is the Buffing Brush – “Ideal for full coverage application of powder and mineral foundation” although because of its size, I use it to apply powder blush to the apples of my cheeks and I am able to blend it as much as I want as well.

real_techniques_08

The Contour Brush – “delicately applies highlighter to contour or create sheer, soft-focus finish” although I use it to buff out my foundation and apply setting powder to the under eye area.

real_techniques_09

The flat head brush is the Pointed Foundation Brush – “Use with liquid foundation to build custom coverage”. I hardly ever use flat head brushes and find no need for them so I have only used it a couple of times to apply peach/red concealer to hide dark circles under my eyes.

real_techniques_10

Lastly the Detailer Brush – “precision cut to effortlessly conceal problem areas or, use with lipstick for long-lasting shape and definition”. I have used this brush for different eye makeup numerous times because I love the sharp precision it has upon application.

real_techniques_11

Now on to the Starter Set. This collection comprises of five brushes for the eyes:

real_techniques_12

The Deluxe Crease Brush – “soft, oversized design for effortless contouring”. I love how dense this brush is so I use it to buff and blend the concealer under my eyes.

real_techniques_14

The Base Shadow Brush – “applies a smooth, flawless foundation of color’ but I use it to apply darker colours into my crease.

real_techniques_15

The Brow Brush – “distinctive shape easily defines eyebrows”. This is the best brow brush I have ever tried. It picks up the perfect amount of brow powder without any mess and it is so easy to create shape and fill in brows.

real_techniques_16

The Accent Brush – “for precision detailing, highlighting and smudging”. I use this for what it was meant for at least, smudging out eyeliner above and under my eye.

real_techniques_17

The Fine Liner Brush – “for precision application of liquid of cream eyeliner”. This brush is super thin and super awesome. Every time I apply gel liner using this brush, application is fast and I get the desired thickness without smudges every time (which is saying a lot since I always mess up when using superfine pen liners).

real_techniques_18

A great plus about these brushes are that they are very durable and don’t shed at all. I clean them almost every second day with a spray brush cleaner (and I’m not gentle) and I deep clean them every two weeks. All pictures were taken today after cleaning them again so that you can see just how perfect they still look.

real_techniques_07

real_techniques_13

I would recommend Real Techniques brushes to anyone wanting to start or build a brush collection because for the price it is definitely a real bargain for amazing quality.

You can view the full range of brushes here and I will definitely be adding some finishing brushes to my wish list.

Have you tried any Real Techniques yet?

LOTS OF LOVE

Belle BluSHH ❤

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Makeup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow thanks for this detailed post. I can tell you put a lot of effort into it.
    http://www.beautyandbaklava.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

MyBeautySignature

All things beauty and Makeup looks

StunnersSlayUniqueness

Imperfection is beauty! Embrace it!

An Ordinary Gal

*Beauty*Life*Parenting*

Make It Rayne

all things beautiful

Beauticraze

Spoil yourself - You deserve it

With Elizabeth H

Beauty, Lifestyle & Travel Blog

stylewithmepretty

Fashion / Beauty / Advice / Lifestyle

Marelize du Toit Photography

My photography portfolio and blog about things

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

throughtheglitterglass.wordpress.com/

Through The Glitter Glass

XXOJESS

XXOJESS

Belle BluSHH

Welcome!

Gee Whiskers!

MAKEUP IS MY DRUG - ADDICT . JUNKIE . OBSESSED

the Beauty Bybel

MAKEUP IS MY DRUG - ADDICT . JUNKIE . OBSESSED

Not Another Poppie

News, Reviews, and other beauty hues

